The Jones Award: It’s About Impact


What does impact in social sector communications look like? Can you measure it?

Yes, you can measure impact. Communications work that creates impact will:

  1. Elevate and advance issues

  2. Influence attitudes and beliefs

  3. Inspire action in pursuit of social change

The social sector communicators who make up The Communications Network strive to achieve those goals every day.

The Clarence B. Jones Impact Award from The Communications Network showcases and honors the best of what communications in our sector looks like so that others may learn from it, recreate it, and invest more deeply in the transformative power of communications for good.

The award is named in honor of Dr. Clarence B. Jones, a hero of the Civil Rights Movement who helped draft Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s “I Have a Dream” speech, and a paragon of what communications for good can accomplish.

Read The Chronicle of Philanthropy’s coverage of our inaugural winner, Truth Initiative, to get a flavor of what we look for in our nominees.

This award is sponsored by The Heinz Endowments



What does nomination entail? Who’s eligible? What’s the criteria? What’s the timeline?



Nominations for 2020 open in October.


2018 winner: Truth Initiative

Truth Initiative is the inaugural Clarence B. Jones Impact Award winner.